URPE 50th Anniversary Conference

2018 UWE Conference

Celebrate the retirement of Professor Robert Keller with a gift in support of the newly established Keller Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching Endowment

Undergraduate Women in Economics

Graduate Students diversity in Econ

Dr. Paul Krugman, Dr. Bob Keller and Dr. Cher Li

Getting REDI

Dr. Tavani explaining economics

Foreign Trade University graduation

More than an academic department: a learning community.



The goal of the Department of Economics is to build a learning community that supports the intellectual development and professional aspirations of both students and faculty. Our undergraduate and graduate programs offer courses that cover an unusually wide range of economic thought, including neo-classical economics, Keynesian economics, institutional economics, Marxian economics and feminist economics.
We want our students to become critical thinkers who understand the debates about economic methodology and policy as well as the techniques of economic analysis.

Our faculty members have active research agendas and substantial scholarly records; nonetheless, our students are our first priority. We constantly strive to improve our teaching programs, and our faculty have won many teaching and advising awards. Our PhD program provides many opportunities for students to interact with faculty and to work with them on research projects. We have had an excellent track record in job placements for our graduate students. The department chair is always glad to meet prospective and current students, and to answer their questions – stop by any time!



January 16

CURRENT UNDERGRADS: The Major Mingle is one week away! We hope you can join us! If you have not RSVP'ed already please see the emails sent to you December 6th or January 15th. If you did not receive an email please contact our office in Clark C306, 970-491-6324, or via email: cla_economics@Mail.Colostate.edu

CURRENT ECONOMICS MAJORS: SAVE THE DATE! The Department of Economics is holding its 3rd annual Major Mingle on January 23, 2019 from 12:00-1:00pm in the Lory Student Center Cherokee Ballroom. The Major Mingle is a great opportunity for undergraduate economics majors to meet other students in the program as well as learn more about the department’s professors research, teaching methods, and personal interests. There will be a free lunch buffet and the chance to win some door prizes! This event is only open to current economics majors and RSVPs are required to attend. Seating is limited! Questions can be directed to the Economics Office by email: cla_economics@colostate.edu, phone: 970-491-6324, or stop by Clark C306.