Ph.D. Candidate

About

  • Find Me On:

    linkedintwitter
  • Website:

    schinlfc.github.io
  • Office Hours:

    By appointment
  • Role:

    Graduate Student
  • Position:

    • Ph.D. Candidate
    • Graduate Teaching Instructor
    • Data Scientist
  • Concentration:

    • Applied Microeconomics
    • Health Economics
    • Public
    • Labor
  • Department:

    • Economics
  • Education:

    • M.A. in Economics, Colorado State University
    • B.A. in Mathematical Economics, Colorado College

Biography

I am currently a Ph.D. Candidate in Economics at Colorado State University, and a Data Scientist at Mountain Data Group. I earned my Master of Arts in Economics from Colorado State University in 2019 and my Bachelor of Arts in Mathematical Economics from Colorado College in 2017.

My primary research interests are in health economics with an emphasis in income distribution and its impact on health. I have co-authored one forthcoming publication in the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization on the comprehensive economic and welfare impact of late-life depression among the U.S. elderly population. My research explore the economics of inequality in the context of health and demographic differences. I answer policy relevant questions by applying a diverse set of machine learning techniques and econometric methods including dynamic panel data estimators, natural experiments, and microsimulations. My work is grounded in sound underlying theory but maintains a strong empirical focus with reliance on data driven approaches.

I have almost six years of teaching experience, including both as a graduate teaching assistant and a graduate teaching instructor at the undergraduate level in economics and have taught undergraduate students in principles of microeconomics and macroeconomics, intermediate microeconomics and macroeconomics, and economic development in–person, online and hybrid modalities. In addition, I would be especially interested in developing and teaching courses related to health economics, welfare/public economics, demographics/labor, econometrics, and/or data analytics/data science.

I am on the 2022-2023 job market. I will be available for interviews at the ASSA meeting in 2023. Link to my Job Market Paper

For fun you will find me watching English Premier League games on the weekend, working out, playing soccer, hiking, or playing guitar and piano. I am a massive jazz, blues, and Liverpool FC fan.

More information can be found in my researchteaching, and curriculum vitae pages.